Ball fields???

Zodiacdiverdave

Silver Member
Mar 18, 2011
The North Atlantic Ocean
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, AT Pro, Sea Hunter II, JW Fisher Proton Magnatometer, Shovel, Hammer and chisel
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Ball field's???

I hope this does not sound too stupid but I plan to hunt a baseball field this weekend and I am still fairly new to this dirt diving sport. My question is, where should I start, at the outfield or infield. I know I wont have time to complete the entire field so I would like to begin with the most productive area. My goal is to find rings and it would seem likely to me that the outfielders would be throwing the ball much harder then the infielders and thus more likely to loose a ring or two.
I hope a few of you more seasoned hunters could give me some advise on this as I know allot of you have hunted ball fields.
Thanks for any advise you can give me,
ZodiacDiverDave

Upvote 0

Shambler

Aug 18, 2008
Under the Trees
Re: Ball field's???

You might be over thinking it. Just be a detective of sorts.

Where do the most people spend the most time?
Where do people do things that might make them lose change or jewelry?
Where would a lost item go unnoticed?

Lowbatts

Gold Member
Jul 1, 2003
Elgin
Detector(s) used
Fishers 1235X-8" CZ-20/21-8" F-70-11"DD GC1023

Got a nice gold ring at a ballfield Sunday. But it was soft dirt and easy digging. If it's dry and hard, wait for the wetter weather and especially post-season to take advantage of the grounds.

Depending on the league or level of play at the field, I usually start working just past the baselines at the edge of the outfield, where the infielders will play deep. Work your way aroudn the bases outside these baselines first. Single biggest reason, this is the area in the field where gloves come off and go on the most during play.