Fancy Discriminating Detectors when you dig everything anyway

LewieMD

Jul 29, 2012
Long Island, NY
Detector(s) used
Sand Shark 10.5 coil, RTG Pro 6" scoop.
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
OK, so I am new to this hobby. Bought myself a Sand Shark and have been learning how to use it on the local beaches. I have spent considerable hours reading everything I could on this and other forums. In many, many instances seasoned vets state that (when land or dry sand hunting) a particular type of metal will sound like/read like another, gold will read like iron, etc. So the recommendation is to dig everything so as not to miss the goodies, no matter what the readings say. This begs the question: if one should generally dig everything why buy a detector with the displays that indicate what type of metal, depth, and give the option to notch out different types of metals?

On the beach, with my SS, I dig almost everything. Have learned that a bobby pin or a long piece of wire gives me a double beep when pinpointing so I generally pass. However, have also learned that a pull tab, a bottle top and a quarter all sound the same, hence I dig them all. Have yet to find gold so I don't know how that will sound.......but I long to hear it!

So????

Upvote 0

ticm

Silver Member
Sep 5, 2007
New Jersey
Detector(s) used
Whites V3i and DFX
I guess you should keep your sand shark. I guess that's what you want to hear. Keep digging.

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 2, Equinox 800/900, Fisher Impulse AQ, E-Trac, 3 Excal 1000's, White's TM808, VibraProbe, 15" NEL Attack, Mi6, Steath 920ix and 720i scoops, TRX, etc....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting