Righty / Lefty

GrizLeeBear

Jan 18, 2013
Full Time In An RV
Detector(s) used
Garrett GTI 1500
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I am right handed and tend to always start out swinging the MD in my right hand. When that shoulder and arm tire, I switch to the left hand. I assume most do this. I figured out that I found more stuff righty than lefty. So I studied on it some and discovered that switching to lefty caused several things to happen.

1) My swing shortened. So, I covered less ground.
2) I did not swing at a consistent level, the MD moved up and down.
3) I was swinging with the tip up, so I was not parallel to the ground.
4) As I ended each sweep, the sides of the coil would come up, again not parallel.

So I worked on correcting these things and did much better left handed. It is nice to have a hobby that is not restricted to one side or the other. This gives some exercise to both sides.

How do others view this? Do you switch hands? Do the results vary?

Upvote 0

worldtalker

Gold Member
May 11, 2011
Western Mass.
Detector(s) used
XP Deus
Primary Interest:
Other
I am right handed and tend to always start out swinging the MD in my right hand. When that shoulder and arm tire, I switch to the left hand. I assume most do this. I figured out that I found more stuff righty than lefty. So I studied on it some and discovered that switching to lefty caused several things to happen.

1) My swing shortened. So, I covered less ground.
2) I did not swing at a consistent level, the MD moved up and down.
3) I was swinging with the tip up, so I was not parallel to the ground.
4) As I ended each sweep, the sides of the coil would come up, again not parallel.

So I worked on correcting these things and did much better left handed. It is nice to have a hobby that is not restricted to one side or the other. This gives some exercise to both sides.

How do others view this? Do you switch hands? Do the results vary?