How deep for old coins/relics ?

treadhead

Jul 8, 2013
Salem, OR
Detector(s) used
Ace 150, AT Pro, Garrett Pro Pointer, Vibra-Probe 580 and 730.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi folks, I'm sure that this question has only been asked four our five hundred times (:tongue3:) so....I thought that I'd ask it
again (Sorry).

Here's the deal...My favorite site (For hunting) right now is an old park that's BEEN a park for almost 130yrs (The old Gal that sold it
to the city I live in these days sold it to them in the mid' 1880's). One of the conditions that She set down (As a condition of the sale)
was that the park be available to the local Christian churches to use for their various summertime/fair-weather functions.

I've researched the park at the county historical society (I'm working with a great old Girl who literally wrote the book on the park) and
there's been any number of revivals/picnics/gatherings....what have you, over the last century and a quarter.

I'm really new to this hobby and have been limited (So far) to an ACE 150 I bought to see if I'd be interested (I AM!). The '150 has been
a lot of fun for me the last 6 months or so but...I've "generally" been digging clad at 4 inches or less with it (Forget what the depth meter
says lol). I'm waiting for My ATP to show up (I expect it any minute according to UPS tracking) and "Hope" that I might get a couple of
more inches with it AND....(Fingers crossed)....find some silver (?)

Anyway, anyone else have any experience with hunting an "old" (At least for the West Coast) area with a "Starter" detector and then
hitting it with one that gets a little deeper?

Thanks for any replies in advance 8-)

Upvote 0

christo000

Silver Member
Mar 17, 2013
mass North Attleboro
Detector(s) used
Xp Deus,m-6 pinpointer, technetics t2ltd (had, whites v3i,minelab xterra 705,atpro,prism 4,sunray probe minlabe profind,garret propointer, f75ltd and many more)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting