A question for all you smart people

JPancho

Tenderfoot
Jan 26, 2005
Augusta, GA
I'm new to MDing and I had a weird find today. I live in Augusta, GA and was out in my back yard this morning with a use 5900 I just got a few days ago. I was running in GEB/DISC mode and had a strong signal in the nickel range at about 5". Now the soil is a thin topsoil then about 2" to 3" of sand then kinda reddish clay after that. Well I dug and found nothing so I checked out my pile of removed soil to see if my target was there. Here I found a "metallic" rock about 1.5" long, .75" wide and .5" thick. This rock was giving me a real strong signal and looked kinda like iron ore with crystalline flakes on it. I check to see if was iron by trying to stick it to a magnate, but it didn't. Any ideas what I have? Also, my 5900 seems to say things are deeper than they really are, and yes I am using preset settings. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Upvote 0

spotz

Bronze Member
Jan 16, 2005
Stanfield, Oregon
Howdy JP. I am not smart, or I would be wealthy! I am however, fat & happy in our little world of MDing. I do not know for sure just what you found, but someone on this forum will figure it out. Welcome to the forum & good luck. Keep swinging! Spotz

Darren in NC

Silver Member
Apr 1, 2004
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Sand Shark, Homebuilt pulse loop
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
Hello JPancho. Can you post a picture? It might help.

warsawdaddy

Gold Member
Nov 23, 2004
Edwards,Missouri
Detector(s) used
MXT - DeLeon - Gamma 6000
About the depth--how high above ground level is your coil?That depth reading includes any air space between bottom of coil and the ground surface.

OP
OP
JPancho

JPancho

Tenderfoot
Jan 26, 2005
Augusta, GA
my coil is touching the ground, I'm wondering if I need to send my MD in for a tune up. Being a used machine, but new to me, I don't have anything to compare it to. (as in "it used to work like this, and now it works like this")

D

Darod

JPancho,