Minelab Safari with 11" Coil

usa2stay

Aug 10, 2011
San Antonio, TX
Detector(s) used
Xterra 305
Xterra 705
I have been using my Xterra 305 for about 5 years. I have found oodles of clad, three silver rings and several other interesting items (including a buried flashdrive which I was able to get back to the owner since it still worked)

I think that the technology has advanced so I would like to consider an upgrade. I see that Kellyco has a refurbished Minelab Safari. Has anyone used the Safari ? If so, what have your experiences been with it?

Thanks very much!

Upvote 0

shawninNY

Oct 2, 2013
Detector(s) used
Xlt/Dfx/BHID , Excaliber, nowCtx 3030
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Safari is a good unit, doesn't have the computer accessibility and tracking features of the etrac , but otherwise I believe it to be the same unit, my hunting partner has been using safari for the last 4 yrs we both just upgraded to the 3030, good luck happy hunting

OP
OP
U

usa2stay

Aug 10, 2011
San Antonio, TX
Detector(s) used
Xterra 305
Xterra 705
Safari is a good unit, doesn't have the computer accessibility and tracking features of the etrac , but otherwise I believe it to be the same unit, my hunting partner has been using safari for the last 4 yrs we both just upgraded to the 3030, good luck happy hunting

Thank you - this is very helpful. I did not know that the Safari had been out that long.

dholland02

Bronze Member
Jan 15, 2012
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace250
Minelab Safari
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've had one for a year now, it loves the silver. I've found a ton of old coins with it in my first year. Rather easy unit to learn. Put a 13" ultimate coil on it and u pretty much have an etrac from what I've been told.

gunsil

Silver Member
Dec 27, 2012
lower hudson valley, N.Y.
Detector(s) used
safari, ATPro, infinium, old Garrett BFO, Excal, Nox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting