digmesomestuff

Greenie
Oct 30, 2014
Northern California
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Deleon, BH Tracker IV
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I know variations of this question have been (and will continue to be) asked and I apologize in advance. I'm a newbie and have a Tracker IV. I get a lot of clad and some jewelry (using tone, sensitivity at 4 o'clock, and disc around 12). I mostly hunt old lots, parks, etc. I spend a few evenings each week doing local research and go to places where older stuff could be found but I haven't found anything older than a 1911 S wheat.

I've logged about 70 hours on my Tracker. I've read in another thread that you should stick with your detector for about 200 hours to really know it. My question is, do I really need 200 hours on my Tracker? Or am I wasting my time trying to find silver with it? I can spend more money if that is the right thing to do. But if it's more about taking your lumps and learning the hard way, I'll just stick with it. I know we newbies are an impatient lot.

Thanks

Upvote 0

Normsel

Bronze Member
Sep 10, 2012
D'Iberville MS
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
E-Trac
Equinox 800
Equinox 600
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Learn the detector you inside and out before you spend more money so you know what kind of features you may want. Then do your research on the models from different manufacturers before you decide. The brand of detector is more of a personal choice and the complexity is as well. It took me about 150 hours to learn my ATP and I have about the same on my V3i and still don't feel I am using it to its' potential.

Garrett424

Silver Member
Jun 20, 2014
Granite, Maryland
Detector(s) used
Teknetics Omega 8000
Teknetics Delta 4000,
Deteknix XPointer,
Fiskar's Big Grip Digger & my old Army Trench shovel for the tough jobs
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting