Tenderfoot
Jan 3, 2013
North Carolina
Detector(s) used
White's Classic II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello Everyone,
I need you advice and suggestions. I am considering pruchasing a new metal detector. I am a complete newbie having only owned a White's Classic 2.
I will mainly be detecting on the beach both wet and dry sand but, no diving or anything like that. Probably only ever about knee deep or so. But, I also like to occaisionally go to local parks etc. So, is there a machine that can do both? For no more than I go out(only a few times a year) it would be nice to just have one machine. So what do all of you think?

Thanks,

Mike

Upvote 0

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Mike what is your budget? Remember if your knee deep you still need waterproof detector or understand one slip and you have an expensive paper weight..

For a little under $600 you can get a Nokta Fors CoRe... It is not waterproof, but it has a saltwater program and it performs exceptionally well on wet salt beaches and shallow water. It is a really good land detector that has a saltwater program. It has both automatic and manual ground balance..

Last edited:

adamBomb

May 30, 2014
Wilmington NC
Detector(s) used
Nox 700;
Past: Nox 600; CTX; CZ21; Excal II; White's DF;
920i Stealth Scoop
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Hello Everyone,
I need you advice and suggestions. I am considering pruchasing a new metal detector. I am a complete newbie having only owned a White's Classic 2.