Beginner

Spartcom5

Feb 2, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey guys Im from the coin roll hunting thread and wanted to try my hand at metal detecting. I have no experience whatsoever in this. How would i get started? Tips from anyone? Is there a thread Im missing for beginners? The metal detecting im eyeing is this http://www.amazon.com/Bounty-Hunter...qid=1438739668&sr=1-4&keywords=metal+detector Ive read great things about it.

Upvote 0

TommyB

Jul 24, 2013
OC, Calif
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Whites Surf PI & Whites DFX
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
You may want to elaborate on what kind of detecting you want to do. What part of the country, beach, turf, saltwater, freshwater, etc. It will make
a difference on the feed back you'll receive. Good Luck you'll get hooked quick.

OP
OP
S

Spartcom5

Feb 2, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You may want to elaborate on what kind of detecting you want to do. What part of the country, beach, turf, saltwater, freshwater, etc. It will make
a difference on the feed back you'll receive. Good Luck you'll get hooked quick.
I was thinking of historical sites, parks, and beaches. So it would have to be waterproof. One of my main goals Im determined to accomplish is to find something made of gold!

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Fresh water or saltwater, the one you linked is single freq detector, it will not work on wet saltwater beaches only in dry sand above the high tide line.....