Fun with Kids???

Skippy SH13

Bronze Member
Feb 18, 2015
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
The last few weeks, I’ve had some oddball experiences with kids following me in the parks, I figured I’d share… some of them have morals to the stories, some of them are just funny. Working backwards

#1 Please… Go Away!

A couple of days ago, I was hitting a park I regularly detect (lots of parents are starting to recognize me). As a result, the typical “wariness” of folks around the “Creeper Beeper” just isn’t there. Lots of them will wave, nod, and whatnot. As a result, I try to be a little more congenial to the kids when they surround me, and if there’s pennies to be had, I’m happy to let them take them. I’m not there for pennies anyway.

This particular day, the # of kids there was pretty light, but I seemed to catch them all like they were flies on a flystrip. A few of the young boys were very patient, and didn’t get in my way (they were up on a rock fixture, just watching, not saying anything or being otherwise annoying). So… When I pulled up a couple of pennies from the bark beneath their feet (sequentially, not at the same time), I reached up and handed them each a penny. They were thrilled, polite, and said, “Thanks!” They were probably 6-7 years old.

That’s the kind of attitude I like. Stay out of my way, be polite, don’t pester… fantastic.

A few minutes later, I had a gaggle of girls surrounding me… nothing to do with the boys (or so I thought), and every time I stooped to check out something, they were RIGHT THERE in my face. I repeatedly asked them to stay back, I didn’t want to accidentally nick one of them with the Lesche digger tool (Oh, man.. can you imagine the flack from that? “HE STABBED MY DAUGHTER WITH A DAGGER!” That’s all I could think about… it was so bad, that I had to put the digger tool in my pouch and dig with my hands).