Garrett AT Pro question

Daved001

Tenderfoot
Aug 25, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've been metal detecting two years using a Garrett Ace 350. I'm looking at upgrading to a Garrett AT Pro. My question is what is the likelihood that Garrett will be releasing a replacement to the AT Pro in the near future? From what I can tell it was released back in 2010. Since I'm new to the metal detecting scene how often do metal detectors get upgraded? I'm looking at it from the perspective of say for example a laptop. Buy a laptop today and six months later it's already outdated. If I buy a AT Pro today will I get burned because they release a newer, better model months from now? To me I would think by now (five years later) Garrett would be rolling out an upgrade to the AT Pro. What do you guys think?

Thanks for the replies.

Upvote 0

gunntekk1

Mar 19, 2005
Newport PA
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Discovery 2200 and ACE 250, AT PRO
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
i'd get the at pro because if your finding things with it, and if they come up with a newer model,it doesn't change the fact that you are still finding stuff. unlike a computer that gets slower as web pages get bigger, there are better detectors out there but the at pro will probably be in your price range and it is a very good detector.

RustyGold

Gold Member
Aug 16, 2013
Southern California
Detector(s) used
XP Deus I & II
Xterra Pro
Primary Interest:
Other
The AT Pro is a very popular detector and will hold its value so you could sell it for a reasonable price.
Unless the new model blew the ATP out of the water, I see no value in holding off buying one.
Just make sure you research what some of our vendors here on TNet sell the AT Pro for so you can make your best deal.
Then should you decide to sell it your loss is minimal.

Z.K.

Bronze Member
Jun 16, 2015
The Grants
Detector(s) used
Etrac
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting