Ricoble

Tenderfoot
Oct 4, 2016
New castle, pa
Detector(s) used
Garrett ace 400
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am currently using a Garrett Ace 400 and I'm not having any problems with it yet. I live in western Pa and I'm usually digging corn fields, cellar holes, small creeks in the area, etc. My question is, I'm getting the urge to buy a new machine. I've got my eye on the Garrett AT Pro and I'd like someone with experience on both detectors to give their input. Is the AT Pro that much better than the Ace 400? Is the "ground balancing" feature useful? Any opinion either pro/con for each detector will be greatly appreciated...I need to decide if it's worth convincing my wife that I "need a new toy"..as she always says..lol. I'm fairly new to the sport and I'm trying to learn from the more experienced diggers.
Thanks guys/gals!:headbang:

Upvote 0

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
searched.gif
Until someone pipes in - I searched
tn_02.gif
and found a few threads comparing those puppies - here are just two...

SD51

Silver Member
Aug 24, 2016
MI
Detector(s) used
E-TRAC
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Don't have either of those detectors but wanted to point out that both use a double D coil so I would believe they have comparable depth capabilities. We all have questioned at some time the depth capability of our machines. The AT Pro is waterproof to 10' so you could use it on beaches too. The other features to look at is the ability to separate trash and coins in close proximity to each other.

CoilToTheSoil

Mar 14, 2015
Detector(s) used
XP Deus
Minelab Sovereign xs2a Pro
Minelab Sovereign GT
Minelab X-Terra 705
Minelab Explorer SE
Minelab e-trac
Tesoro compadre
Whites v3i
AT Pro
Teknetics Gamma 6000
Bounty Hunter Camo LS
Bounty Hunt
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting