BOATY

Tenderfoot
Jan 1, 2013
Cedar Rapids Iowa
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Not a complete newb to MD as Ive had 2 Fisher F2's in the past but didn't really use them that much. Ran across a sale ad today after work for a Whites M6 MD for $150. Going to pick it up from the guy tomorrow. Its an older gentleman that hurt his back and is no longer able to bend down and use it anymore. Anyone got any advice or thoughts or anything on me getting this at this price? Seems like a nice guy that just wanted to pass on the fun to someone who would use it.

Upvote 0

Fletch88

Silver Member
Mar 7, 2013
Valdosta, GA
Detector(s) used
Garrett ATPro- 8.5x11, 5x8, CORS Fotune 5.5x9.5
Tesoro Silver microMax- 8 donut, 8x11 RSD, 3x18 Cleansweep
Minelab Excalibur ll- 10" Tornado
Minelab CTX 3030
Minelab Xterra 305
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It is a very good machine and that is a steal of a price. I liked to run in the single tone mode and flip the toggle to use tone ID to get an idea of what the target was before ever looking at the screen. The single tone audio had a better less filtered sound IMO. It is very easy to setup, simply turn on and set knobs to presets. I did not keep mine very long but did dig dome copper shards in my yard that were amazingly deep and I had been over many times with other machines.

Last edited:

DiamondDan

Apr 21, 2016
Robbinsdale, MN
Detector(s) used
White's M6; Tesoro Compadre; Minelab E-trac; Bounty Hunter QD2
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I love mine. It's a great machine. Deep enough to be dangerous, good recovery speed, and multitones. Also, a TON of coil options. I like to run mine in the tone mode, because 7 tones gives you quite a bit of information, and also there's a bit of "bleed-through" with the discrimination circuit that drives me nuts. Running disc wide open in tone mode negates this.