Swing and a miss

Gravitytester

Feb 29, 2016
Navarre, Florida
Detector(s) used
Mine lab Excalibur I, Garret AT pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have permission to hunt the grounds of a church that has been in around since the early 1800's as verified by pre-civil war survey maps and families that have lived in the area since that time. It has several small clusters of trees on the property, so my first trip there I focused on the area of one of the clusters. I had a couple of hits but it produced nothing. Now I know there is no such thing as a sure thing but really with the history this place has, I thought I would have found something. Now I am fairly new to the hobby and I am trying not to disturb the area any more than possible, so I am not digging everything. I just thought I would have found something, a penny, dime, button or even a pull tab.:BangHead: I have only made that one trip out there, so there is still hope.

Upvote 0

pa-dirt_nc-sand

Silver Member
Apr 18, 2016
South Western PA
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
ACE 250 with DD coil
Equinox 600
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I would put my detector on a basic coin disc mode and swing over the most promising parts of the property, by the main entrance, along the entry walkway, any adjacent flat grassy areas. If you are getting zero targets I would guess this has been hunted thoroughly in the recent past. If you find some old targets, then open up your machine some more. The ground should be nice and moist to allow for good plugs with minimal damage.

Indian Steve

Silver Member
Oct 23, 2011
Stuart VA
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If you can see where the outhouses were or still are, the path to them could hold some surprises. I would bet it has been hunted before but nobody can find it all.

Loco-Digger

Gold Member
Jun 16, 2014
Northern O-H-I-O
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
F75 LTD, 1280X Aquanaut, & a Patriot (back-up/loaner)