Detecting near bridges?

FormerTeller

Bronze Member
Apr 24, 2011
I work in construction, and this year we are going to demolish several bridges on various roads and rebuild them. Some of the bridges are over good sized creeks and streams, and the roads are mostly state roads that have been in use for 100 years or longer. I assume that back in the day these would have been nice locations for perhaps picnics or other stops during long travels.

What I'm wondering is, what areas to target? Detect under the bridge, the embankments after the pilings and concrete are removed, the stream banks, or just everywhere? I assume that once we take up the adjacent road it's not worth detecting there, as the road base will likely be stone or otherwise hauled in from elsewhere. I will have authorized access 24/7 during the construction season.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Upvote 0

Ammoman

Bronze Member
Oct 12, 2015
NC
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, Nokta Impact, Tesoro Compadre..
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have tried detecting under and around several bridges over the years and have never found anything but trash. Massive amounts of trash. If i were forced to detect a bridge i would concentrate my search on the upstream side.

cactusman

Nov 15, 2015
Western USA
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Gold, AT Max, AT Pro, Ace 350, GTI-2500, Infinium LS, Scorpion Gold Stinger, Pro-Pointer AT, Fisher F75 LTD2, Gold Bug 2, F-Pulse, Whites 24K, TM-808, Schonstedt Maggie, Falcon MD 20
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Some history research is in order -- find out how old each bridge is, if there was an earlier bridge, and if not, was it the location of some sort of crossing? If so, there could be some old coins and relics there. You can certainly expect to find a bunch of cans, bottle caps, screw tops, fishing sinkers (and hooks, be careful), and loads of glass when you're digging. I would expect some good finds with enough time.