My first metal detector..... So many to choose from!! HELP! :-)

Chipdoo

Greenie
May 24, 2007
Hi all,
I plan on purchasing my first metal detector in the coming weeks and need opinions on which to go with.
I will need a detector that does parks and schools (pretty much grass) and would also like it to be able to be used at the beach in a couple of inches of salt water.

Basically looking for one that will do it all but mostly will concentrate on coins and jewelery.
Since I'm new to this and though I'm a quick learner, I don't want something from NASA, but I don't want something from Toys R Us either! lol.
Looking to spend anywhere between $400-$650 or so.

Any opinions will be greatly appreciated!
-Chip

Upvote 0

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You can easily find a good detector for that money or even less if you leave out the couple inches of saltwater. Ground detectors don't work well in the wet saltwater sand or the waves of saltwater. For that you need a saltwater mode which isn't on the land units. You can get a ACE 250 for near $212.00 and it is great with many features found on higher priced machines. Many here would recommend it.

Jeffro

Silver Member
Dec 6, 2005
Eugene, Oregon
Detector(s) used
Fisher CZ5, White's GM VSat
Coin detectors, gold detectors and saltwater detectors.... I don't know of a one that does all three with top notch performance.

I agree with Sandman, the Ace 250 is a good starter detector with great capabilities, for land.

I haven't hunted saltwater, so I can't really recommend one for that application.

Whites, Tesoro, Fisher and Garrett all make good gold detectors.