Beginner here with a few questions

MrGneissGuy

May 30, 2017
Los Angeles
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hey guys. My wife bought me a metal detector a few years ago and now that I'm finally getting into the prospecting hobby I have questions about some specifics.

1) Do you need an expensive metal detector? (I am only interested in searching for gold (natural gold preferably)) I don't plan on walking beaches ever, but who knows.

2) Why are there so many different coils and do I need like one of each?

3) What's the deal with pinpointers like the AT pro? It almost seems like I could get one of those, attach it to a stick and call it a metal detector. I know that won't work but I don't know why.

4) Is there anything I should know about my beginner detector? It's "The Outback Bounty Hunter". I know for certain that it can find iron and old tires :) but beyond that I have no idea.

Upvote 0

xr7ator

Gold Member
Sep 2, 2011
Denver, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, AT Gold, ATX, MH7 (oldie!) Minelab Explorer SE Pro, EQ800
You need to start watching a lot of utube vids on detecting, then get out there and get dirty.
The pinpointer will speed up recovery time allowing more targets to be dug.
I live in Colorado and have never had any luck detecting natural gold but...gold is where you find it. If you get out and start finding a lot of brass and lead, welcome to the reality of detecting where many have used firearms over the years.
Get with someone who already knows the ropes. Best advice I can give.
GOOD LUCK! and.....HH ALL

victhedog

Jun 24, 2008
Stroudsburg Monroe co. PA
Detector(s) used
Whites Specra V3I, Whites Beach Hunter
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
if your looking for gold your best to get a high freq detector made to find gold not a all medal unit

a pinpointer on a stick would work for shalow targets ,but would be slow going

think your best starting place is to read your manual a learn how to use your detector

Terry Soloman

Gold Member