Top brands and models

Nathan-Drake0075

Mar 10, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi everyone! I'm looking to get a new metal detector and possibly a pointer as well, any suggestions for brands and models? It also needs to be able to go under water. Can I look for one that I can go scuba diving with, and use that for surface metal detecting too? Or would I need to get 2 different ones? Thanks your all your advice in advance!

Happy hunting!

Upvote 0

dts52

Bronze Member
Jun 20, 2015
NW CT
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Equinox800 / AT Pro / AT Gold / Makro Racer
Vibra-probe / TRX pp
Primary Interest:
Other
Hello, ND0075.

I'm no expert but in my limited experience, an underwater detector such as an Excal would not be the best choice for dry land detecting. Most dry land detectors AT - Nox, etc are good for no more than 10' depth, more suitable for wading or maybe snorkelling depths, but not SCUBA depths. I'll let the experts chime in but I think you are going to need two machines. Best of luck.
HH
dts

OP
OP
Nathan-Drake0075

Nathan-Drake0075

Mar 10, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thank you Dts! It is much appreciated! What land detector do you use?

A2coins

Gold Member
Dec 20, 2015
Ann Arbor
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I like the garrett at easy to use great for land can go up to 10 feet in the water very easy to use . If your just doing water there are more water specific machines. good luck you will hear a lot of apinions.

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 2, Equinox 800/900, Fisher Impulse AQ, E-Trac, 3 Excal 1000's, White's TM808, VibraProbe, 15" NEL Attack, Mi6, Steath 920ix and 720i scoops, TRX, etc....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting