Trying to choose between a Minelab Explorer II and a Whites DFX or XLT

Bhinton

Nov 19, 2007
I am rather new to the hobby. I have gone round in round in circles trying to choose a detector. At one time I was chasing a Garrett 2500, but have decided that it is overpriced and not in the same category as those listed above.

I am trying to decide between used units; either a Minelab Explorer II or S, a Whites DFX or a Whites XLT. I will be using it primarily in South Texas to do coin, jewelry or relic hunting. I might take it to the beach occasionally, but that is not my primary focus. I doubt I will ever go prospecting. I would prefer a digital display.

Based on reading a ton, I have reached the conclusion that the Minelab Explorer is superior machine, but extremely difficult to learn. It looks like I can get a used Explorer actually cheaper than a used DFX or XLT. I am relatively computer/technology literate, but I am not a gadget geek or engineering type.

My questions are:

1. Should be afraid of the learning curve for the explorer?
2. Do you agree that this is a better machine than the White's?
3. Any suggestion regarding if you would recommend one of these machines over the other?

Thanks a lot.

Byron.

Upvote 0

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
the explorer is the deeper seeking machine, hands down. But the tooty-fluty sounds will make no sense, unless someone, who's already proficient, is there to show you some side-by-side signal comparisions. So yes, a long learning curve, but in the end, in the hands of someone who's unraveled the fluty toons, it's deadly :)

relikhunter

Jul 17, 2006
S.E. kansas
Detector(s) used
whites dfx garrett gtp 1350