Metal detector question.

Yeti

Mar 22, 2005
Missouri/ Kansas
Detector(s) used
Explorer SE/ Explorer XS/ White's Eagle II sl
I have been using my White's Eagle II since the late 1989. I was wondering is there any advantages in getting a new DFX or Minelab EX? I was told at the detector shop that the newer detectors are just lighter. Is this correct? I would have thought that they would wanted to sell me a new detector. Has anyone went from a Eagle II to a DFX or EX? I do know that Minelab's don't pinpoint very good.

Any help?

Thanks

Upvote 0
R

Rich

ahh i wouldnt go by what you were told,Minelabs depth cant be beat,also Whites are among the best still,...
I had the MD your speaking of when they came out,...but i can say a DFX or Explorer are great detectors,top of the line!....
Minelabs are a hunk of $$$$ to get and takes some to learn but worth it in the end!,...
I also heard very very good results with a DFX,.....

trade that old digital relic in,grab a new whites or a used explorer,........but also get a aftermarket coil-------- from personal experience.....,

also if they told you that the Minelab is lighter,then they pulled the wool over your eyes--- look around for good deals, do a trade in.......but dont let anyone say the top above detectors are lighter and have no differnce in depth ,.........Minlab also i think has a contract to build MD's for landmines,...so i would go with the best if serious...

sherpa t

Jan 25, 2005
Ocala florida
Detector(s) used
Titan / Tesoro SLT/ Fisher F5
Sounds like a pretty easy going salesman, why not put together a group of samples , take your present unit in,test, and compair the results. I think it would be worth the peace of mind when spending the money to feel that it truly is an upgrade.
I would also look at the MXT , it's well regarded.

OP
OP
Y

Yeti

Mar 22, 2005
Missouri/ Kansas
Detector(s) used
Explorer SE/ Explorer XS/ White's Eagle II sl