Newbie questions, signal strength, foil, target depth

skyhead

Tenderfoot
Apr 10, 2008
First I'd like to say thanks to everyone who's answered my other questions. This forum is the best!. So I'm new to detecting and I live in northeast Ohio. Some of the places tried so far are limited to my back yard and the local school. I have a Tesoro Compadre and it seems to detect everything that's close to the surface. I want to make sure I don't miss anything but if I set it to discriminate foil it will still give a strong signal on a tiny piece of foil close to the surface. And it will also strong signal iron that is 10 inches deep.

I'm trying to keep it on the foil setting and dig everything but I'm doing a lot of digging for foil and pencil erasers, pull tabs. Once I do hit a clad coin it does make quite a difference in the signal strength. Here are my questions for anyone that willing to answer

1. can a silver dime on edge say more than 4 inches deep give a different or weak signal? what about other coins?

2. I imagine it depends on soil conditions but how deep should I be looking for older coins?

3. how does a tiny piece of foil make its way down to 4 inches or more deep?

4. I'm in the Akron area, are there any metal detecting clubs or groups close to me?

Thanks in advance everyone

Dave

Upvote 0

Rifleman

Oct 1, 2007