Mod for ACE 250 Audio

Johnnysan

Jan 3, 2009
Detector(s) used
Whites Classic 5-ID / Garrett Ace 250
There seems to be a lot of postings about the audio level coming out of the Ace 250 from Garrett, with good reason. Unless you've been listening to Led Zeppelin at full volume for the past 20 years, you have probably come to the conclusion that a level control is a must for this MD. This is my experience with toning down the dings from this machine. BTW, I'm a tech.

I removed the case from my 250 in the hopes of installing a volume control on the unit itself. It's very crowded inside and a control of standard size just won't fit (most are the size of 6 or 7 dimes stacked together). Also, the jack is mounted directly on the circuit board, making a mod that much more difficult. An external control would look like a 4-year-old did the work.
So, a change to an existing pair of headphones is the answer. I had been using a pair of Sony headphones that have an impedance of 32 ohms that I had already shortened the cable on and changed the 1/4 inch plug; adding resistance will bring the volume down. I experimented and found that a resistor value of about 1000 ohms works well. Yes, this a lot of additional resistance, but it was necessary for a comfortable listening level.
It should be noted at this point that MDs don't have stereo output; it is 2 channel from a mono source. On a pair of headphones the 1/4 inch plug in often referred to as 'ring, tip, sleave'--the right channel is connected to the tip of the plug, the left channel is the ring (center contact) and both channels are common grounded to the sleave. The Ace 250 DOES NOT use this arrangement; it uses ouput to the ring and tip (left and right) only--this means the headphone speakers are in series. It also means they are out of phase, but considering the frequencies used, it doesn't matter.