Possible (meteorite found after witnessed fall)

RockForum

Nov 28, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Alright this is my first time on this site. The reason I am posting is because when I was younger I witnessed a fall of a "meteorite" literally right down the block from my house it came down lower then the power lines and landed. I decided to look KNOWING it landed there. This was the only rock I found. I messaged the museum of Natural History and they said It could be a meteorite but could also be magnetite. The only thing is. They say that Magnetite streaks black or streaks and this doesn't leave any streak marks at all of any color. It is metallic. After using Hydrolic acid I managed to get a nickel reading on it. After 4 separate tries and a file to get into the object. I know something fell in the area and by the SIZE of what I saw fall this matches it. Almost certainly. I attached a photo of it. It's strange. Its SO similar to Magnetite (meteor wrongs) but yet so different at the same time. I also attached a photo of a magnetite rock to show how similar it is. Can't say for sure. but I can say it certainly doesn't streak like a magnetite would. The black is the uncleaned area. Unlike the fake the one I believe is from what I saw fall. Has an odd what looks like what I would call a tumor coming out of it. Just strange. Basically i'm dealing with some saying. it's a meteorite, It could be a meteorite some saying it isn't a meteorite. all I know is one did fall in that area and I searched the WHOLE site.

Attachments

• Possible meteorite surface.jpg
    Possible meteorite surface.jpg
    76 KB · Views: 233
  • window 3 surface.jpg
    window 3 surface.jpg
    59.8 KB · Views: 145
  • Fake meteor.jpg
    Fake meteor.jpg
    58.4 KB · Views: 491
Last edited:

Peyton Manning

Gold Member
Dec 19, 2012
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
MXT-PRO
Sandshark
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I for one would like to hear the story of what you saw and heard.