Found Gott Schutze Dich pendant in Afghanistan

29INFMANCHU

Jun 11, 2011
I'm a soldier with 2nd BCT, 101st Airborne Division (Air Assault). While on dismounted patrol in Kandahar, Afghanistan I stumbled across the aforementioned charm necklace just laying on the ground. Just found it again and am interested to know if anyone has seen another like it, google searches turned up no similar charm. The charm itself appears to be silver but I think the chain may be nickel or something? (I'm a GI and know little about jewelry). Any input would be appreciated. Could this thing be rare or is it a mass produced piece of junk?

Attachments

• IMG_0367.JPG
    IMG_0367.JPG
    529 KB · Views: 1,287
  • IMG_0368.JPG
    IMG_0368.JPG
    463.4 KB · Views: 1,240

Westfront

Silver Member
Jun 15, 2010
Germania Secunda
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
XP Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Nice one! From the script it looks like early 20th century, the design looks somewhat modern but can be that old too. Can be a hairloom... There are german troops around kandahar too? Maybe one of this soldiers took it down there and lost it. Not very rare, but im sure someone is missing that thing badly...
Welcome to t-net!

birdman

Gold Member
Jan 28, 2005
Choctaw Beach Florida
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800 and ORX, tesoro Cibola with garret,whites and minelab pinpointers
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Very cool. Wish I could find something like that here in Iraq. Nothing but rocks and a few bullets. :coffee2:

bootybay

Gold Member
Aug 9, 2007
NJ
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
EXCAL 2, SOV. GT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting