X-Terra 70 - Swing Speed / Target Depth Question

flysar

Mar 8, 2013
WA
Detector(s) used
Current: Equinox 800, Makro Gold Racer, Fisher CZ-20, various Tesoro's
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm still learning my Xterra 70 and I'm confused about swing speed... I've read slow down, 3 seconds for full left - right - left swing, etc.

Sometimes when I get a promising high tone and ID and then slow down over the target I either loose it all together or the numbers get erratic so I chalk it up to falsing or some other anomaly and move on.

I buried a silver 1/2 at approximately 4", set up my system for my soil conditions and hearing; Grnd Bal 12, noise cancel 0, Vol 23, threshold 16, sens 15, tones 3. I was able to pick up the 1/2 at 4" regardless of how slow I went but at approx 6" I lost it at crawling speed but got a good tone/ID if I picked up the pace. I set up an air test, I know it's not the same as ground operation but I had to do it. My wife was watching the display while I moved the same silver 1/2 at approximately 6", the sound was erratic and the numbers were all over, 2-44. At the same distance I moved it quicker and the display was a solid 44/46. It didn't matter if I was in AM or FP Pattern #1.

Given the soil conditions/set up I described is it reasonable to think I get more depth with a quick (not speedy) vs slow swing speed, is it my soil conditions, or am I all messed up in my testing.

I'll be getting a 10.5" 7.5khz DD Coil hoping to increase my sensitivity, we'll see.

Longhair

May 26, 2012
Backside Of Nowhere In Mid-Michigan
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2,
Fisher 1280X,
MineLab Xterra 705,
MineLab Explorer SE
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If your GB really is 12, then you're in some HOT ground! A DD is going to make a huge difference. You'll likely see an increase of about 10 on GB going to that 10.5" coil over a stock 9" concentric.