Broken rings and chains with the CTX 3030

cdv1

Jun 29, 2011
Florida
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
I'm fairly new to the CTX and just getting into seeing what all the adjustments can do for you with this machine. I primarily beach and water hunt and will be using the CTX for this purpose most of the time. This morning I decided to do some testing in the yard with an assortment of rings and a medium gold chain just to see what the CTX could do for me. All of the rings rang out like I thought until I got to a 10k broken claddagh ring I got last week with the Excal. This broken ring almost never sounded off with a tone until I had the coil almost on the ring and doing the Minelab wiggle on it. What I did notice though (which I thought odd) was that the Threshold blanked over the ring about 95% of the time. That I thought was interesting so I tried the chain both straight and balled up and came up with again almost the same results as the broken ring! I then changed search modes from Beach to Relic and found the detector sounded off more often on the ring and chain in that mode... it didn't give a tone 100% of the time but more like 75% of the time with the coil height above the targets about 2 inches.. A slower and shorter swing of the coil did make a difference in the repeatability of the target response.

So, now even though I don't hear a tone but hear the threshold break and it is repeatable, its time to locate the target (threshold break), make slow small swings to almost pinpoint the target (Minelab wiggle), then either dig and investigate or switch modes to give me more information about what may be down there... this is a very interesting machine.....
As a side note, I thought maybe I had my Threshold volume to high and that was causing the blanking of the targets, I did further testing and what I found was the Threshold volume didn’t seem to make a difference with the blanking going over the targets.

Cliff

Sandman