Which way to go e-trac or XT-705 with 3 coils?

5akers

Tenderfoot
Feb 3, 2014
Strafford MO
Detector(s) used
Still Looking
I have been thinking about the XT-705 with the 3, 7.5 and 18.75 kh coils and feel it would cover all of the bases. The cost of the 705 with 3 coils brings me above the cost of the safari and just under the cost of the e-trac. Would it make sence to just pull the trigger and buy the e-trac? I do not have any experience with the minelab product but when I search for a MD to buy I seem to always come back to Minelab.

DeepseekerADS

Gold Member
Mar 3, 2013
SW, VA - Bull Mountain
Detector(s) used
CTX, Excal II, EQ800, Fisher 1260X, Tesoro Royal Sabre, Tejon, Garrett ADSIII, Carrot, Stealth 920iX, Keene A52
Primary Interest:
Other
I've never used the XT-705. But I can say that the E-Trac is unbelievable, and I'm still learning. I've had mine a year next month, and I think in a couple more years I may learn it well enough to really use its' full capabilities.

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Just depends. Unless you are hunting gold nuggets, I would go with the E-Trac.

Longhair

May 26, 2012
Backside Of Nowhere In Mid-Michigan
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2,
Fisher 1280X,
MineLab Xterra 705,
MineLab Explorer SE
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
They are such different animals that I have both an FBS and a V-Flex machine. It all depends on what you're hunting for, conditions where you'll hunt, and whether or not weight is a factor. Both are very capable units.

OP
OP

5akers

Tenderfoot
Feb 3, 2014
Strafford MO
Detector(s) used
Still Looking