Xterra 70 Request (new owner, little experience)

old_mikee

May 26, 2007
Burbank Ca.
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT; Minelab XTerra 70
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hello Everyone

I am fairly new to metal detecting and to this forum and have a request or two. I have prospected for years with a gold pan and sluice box and finally purchased a metal detector, an MXT, a little less than a year ago. My wife and I are fortunate enough to live within 50 minutes of the coast and both of us like prospecting, coin and jewelry hunting on the beach and just being outdoors. Being the good husband I am I purchased her a brand new XTerra 70 from someone who bought it two months ago and never took it out of the package.

I saved a few dollars on it but unfortunately, Minelab will not extend me the warranty, which I would really like to have. They are pretty adamat about it and I am not sure I understand their thinking there, but was told that if they did it for me they would have to do it for everyone. I'm a little confused and not sure why that would be so bad. After all two years is two years regardless of who owns it. Are all second owners bad people and going to abuse the unit more than the first owner? Again,I really do not understand the philospphy, and I almost did not buy a Minelab because of it, but liked the previous owner and took a chance on it, hoping it would work well for us.

I chose the X Terra instead of another MXT because the XTerra's reviews praise it as a good "all-around detector" which is of primary importance in my decision making, but also because it is is one of the lightest detectors offering the same features with 2/3 the weight of the MXT (my wife is only 5' 2" tall, 115 pounds and is somewhat frail due to arthritic joint issues) She can not swing the MXT, even with the smallest oval coil made, for any period of time as it is too heavy for her.