Im not sure what this is or how old, spear head maybe?

Ctrustme

Tenderfoot
Aug 9, 2012
I'm not sure what this is or how old, spear head maybe?

My grandmother found this in 1918 near Gunpowder River in Fallston, MD. It's about 5 1/4 inches long and 1 1/2 inches at the widest point. I'm super new at this forum thing and hope I'm in the right spot. Any feedback and or guidance would be greatly appreciated! My father values this piece dearly and would love to get more information. Many thanks for your help! Carrie

spearhead.JPG

Upvote 0

GatorBoy

Gold Member
May 28, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
That is a beautiful piece!!! Yes you are in the right place. You will get plenty of info on that I'm sure. I've got to run but if when I get back you still need info I will be happy.

birdpointgriswold

May 23, 2012
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I would guess..I'm no expert a few guys up here are very good with I.Ds "the grim reaper" "larson", "sohio", "americus", 'harry",... but I'm going to give it a shot! I would say Archaic early some sort of Kirk corner notch, St. Charles plevena, or lost lake

Johnathan Griswold

WhiteCountyPaleo

Jul 21, 2008
Lafayette, IN
Detector(s) used
AT PRO
Looks like a Dovetail / St. Charles. Has the characteristic (in the picture) of also being left hand beveled. It seems to to have been resharpened for a left handed person. Looks like it's made of Coshocton / Upper Mercer or Onondaga Flint?

WhiteCountyPaleo

Jul 21, 2008
Lafayette, IN
Detector(s) used
AT PRO
Looking again at the picture, it looks like it's not beveled, but resharpened from both sides. Seems kind of odd. You should show a picture that looks down on the piece from the tip. Interesting.

OP
OP
Ctrustme

Ctrustme

Tenderfoot
Aug 9, 2012
WhiteCountyPaleo said: