Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari
Minelab Excalibur 2
White's classic 3sl
Garrett Infinium
Garrett pro pointer AT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello, I dug this thing up many years ago in a chunk of land that the state had previously planned to run the local interstate through. As they began prepping the land for the highway, many native american artifacts were turning up, so they had to re-route the highway slightly to the east. Anyway, I used to dig there and came up with this thing one day. I am no expert, but the top of this thing sure looks like it's been used many times, it has this waxy sheen to it in spots, like it has had objects struck or rubbed on it with the grain, and is super smooth but only on the top, like it was used as some sort of sharpening device. What do you think?? You can see the waxy type sheen on the top of the stone better in the first picture.

Attachments

• rsz_artifact.jpg
    rsz_artifact.jpg
    106.8 KB · Views: 237
  • rsz_artifact2.jpg
    rsz_artifact2.jpg
    107.3 KB · Views: 234
Upvote 0

painterx7

Silver Member
Jul 20, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Idk but I find pieces with that same shape hope you find out what it is ??

OP
OP
lisfisher

lisfisher

Mar 5, 2008
CT
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari
Minelab Excalibur 2
White's classic 3sl
Garrett Infinium
Garrett pro pointer AT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
4 3/4" long, 1 3/4" high, and 1 1/4" thick { across the top shown in picture }

OP
OP
lisfisher

lisfisher

Mar 5, 2008
CT
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari
Minelab Excalibur 2
White's classic 3sl
Garrett Infinium
Garrett pro pointer AT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'd like to bring this thread up again to see if this is a mano stone. The flat side has obviously been rubbed repeatedly against something, or it sure looks that way to me. This is the way it came out of the ground. The flat side has a sort of "sheen " to it as if it had been used a lot.

rock