Cherokee County Gold 9/18

rtenpin

Sep 18, 2011
My name is Tenpin and I am new to panning. I bought my Garrett's pan set 4 weeks ago.

I live in Cherokee County in GA right on the GA gold belt so I thought this would be a neat hobby. I went to a meet and greet with the Allatoona gold panners, got taught, found some flakes and now I am hooked.

There are creeks on public land (corps of engineers) that can be prospected (using pan and shovel only) all around Lake Allatoona. That's all good. Great even! But what's better is having a friend that owns land that has a creek. A creek that had a mine on it less than a mile upstream. A creek that had a hundred year flood 3 years ago. A creek that no one has picked over. And over.

I thought I'd take a few pics (gps info removed lol) to share from my trip out today.

I'd started a test trench last week that ran perpendicular to the creek on this 20-yard-long bench deposit. This week, based on what I'd found in the perpindicular trench, I started a line parallel to the creek where I had my best shovelful the week before.

bt-gold1.jpg

Here's the start of the parallel trench and my 1st pan of dirt. I'm heading upstream.
bt-gold2.jpg

The 1st pan of the day. 2 shovels worth.
bt-gold3.jpg

Here's the results of that first pan. Looks like it's gonna be a nice day...
bt-gold4.jpg

...And it was! . I did 2 10 foot runs that were side-by side. App. 20sq ft total. 1 shovel deep.

The day's results:
bt-gold5.jpg

Just have a shovel and pan so this took about 6-7 hours but after seeing the results some people are getting from a weekend of dredging, and sluicing, I'm feeling fortunate.

Upvote 0

Gramps43

Feb 27, 2011
Tillamook, OR
Detector(s) used
White's 4900/D Pro Plus
Primary Interest:
Prospecting