Panning with alcohol?

mr.bean

Apr 7, 2014
Oklahoma
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
This is my first time posting on Treasurenet, so go easy on me! I just remembered that alcohol has a lower specific gravity (.8190) than water. This caused me to wonder if panning with 91% isopropyl alcohol would aid in the ability to pan easier and recover more gold. The additional plus is that the alcohol could eliminate any trace amounts of oil.

Perhaps this a just wacky gold fever induced idea but what are your thoughts on the effectiveness?

Thanks for viewing, heavy pans!

Upvote 0

bobw53

Oct 23, 2014
Hatch, New Mexico
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Would the less dense liquid also have a harder time moving the light stuff? Would a more dense liquid move the light stuff off easier?

I really don't know... I do know that water comes out of my faucet for pretty close to free, and I have to get alcohol at the beer store or the Wally World...

Salt saturated water has a specific gravity of about 1.2. Possibly a cheaper way to see if a more dense, or less dense fluid would make a difference.

I'm going to vote the difference would be negligible, and not worth the effort and/or cost to go to a more or less dense fluid...

Interesting thought, I'm sure somebody has done the experiment before...

GoldpannerDave

Bronze Member
Apr 17, 2014
Colorado Springs, CO
Detector(s) used
Bazooka 48" Miner and 30" Sniper, Le Trap, Wolf Trap, A52, 2" dredge, Miller tables, Blue Bowl, wheel, Falcon MD20, old White's detector
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
This is my first time posting on Treasurenet, so go easy on me! I just remembered that alcohol has a lower specific gravity (.8190) than water. This caused me to wonder if panning with 91% isopropyl alcohol would aid in the ability to pan easier and recover more gold. The additional plus is that the alcohol could eliminate any trace amounts of oil.