Help me sort CW relics from miscellaneous junk!

rhedden

Mar 23, 2003
Eastern NY
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Simplex
Back in 2001-3, I took a friend metal detecting at a previously untouched site in central Maryland I had been working for several months, which has some history back to the mid 1700s. There were once several small, crude dwellings in a sheltered area next to a hill, with a stream nearby. I had been digging all sorts of ancient metal objects from around the ruins, which I thankfully saved, but it was on that day that it finally dawned on me that there was quite possibly some Civil War history to the site. I think the little bell went off in my head when I dug the 1851 officer's sword belt plate (E. Pluribus Unum type), followed by the NY officer's coat button. Imagine my friend's surprise when he returned from his car with a soda in-hand, and announced "there's nothing to dig here-let's go." We also dug 1860 & 1865 Indian cents, and an 1865 2-center there at different times. Thankfully, I had been saving all of the non-ferrous relics from the site, not realizing up until that point that it might have CW history. The problem is that the site was "contaminated" with relics from other eras- King George Coppers, a slick 1794 large cent, an 1895 Indian cent, a 1919 Lincoln, and a 2002 vintage McDonald's cup (lol) that I used to mark the site where I found the large cent so I could get back there easily through the thick overgrowth.

I now live in west TX and can't dig great CW-era stuff like this any more. This evening, I got out the container from my garage with all the relics from this site, washed them off, and photographed them. I am no expert in CW era relics, so I would like to "enlist" your help in plucking the CW relics from the others, and identifying their function. Please have a look at the photo below and let me know if you can positively ID any of the relics, whether CW-related or not.