4 lb. cannonballs

M

MH in Alabama

Hi, I'm really new to this sort of thing but last year I found three cannonballs around my farm and I still can't figure out anything about them. I found one buried in the back of a horse stall. The dirt in a horse stall has a way of getting dug out during cleaning and gets replaced periodically. Well, we bought this farm, moved in and started using the stall. After a few months I noticed a hard something in the back of the stall. I just thought it was a rock and when kicking didn't dislodge it I left it alone. A few weeks late it was further ouit and starting to look rather rounded for a rock. Out came the shovel and I had a very heavy iron ball.
After a little while we dicided that it must be a cannonball, that's when two more turned up unburied in a non-operational comercial sized chicken house (400' long). Here they are:
78516eb8.jpg

They are 4 pounds and 3 inches in diameter. For all I can tell I think they must be solid shot.
This one has a large ding in it:
cannonballs2.jpg

They are rusty and don't apear to be very well made. A seam line is visible and one of them is definitly lopsided.