Ash cones in Nevada what were the old timers mining for?

gunshow70

Greenie
Feb 17, 2020
Sacramento,Ca.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi! While predator hunting in Nevada I came across an area with large white ash cones 30 to 45 feet high. Someone had dug a hole maybe 8 feet by 8 feet straight down for 25 feet at it's base. I don't know what they were looking for and it has always been a mystery to me. There is a lot of old volcanic activity up there, with black rock and then this bright white area is such a stark contrast. There also a few walls of this white ash or whatever it is, with hundreds of holes carved into it 1 foot to 3 feet wide and 2 to 3 feet deep. I have little geological knowledge but love treasure hunts, can anyone give me a heads up as to what prizes might still be there.

Red-Coat

Gold Member
Dec 23, 2019
Surrey, UK
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Nevada's a big place, but if you use the 'mindat' database, you can check any specific locality for what minerals are notably found there and also whether there is or was industrial mining to exploit them. Here's the link for Nevada:

https://www.mindat.org/loc-14194.html

You can keep zooming in on the map via the '+' icon and/or by clicking on the numbered locality areas to expand them. Ultimately you will see mines marked with a 'hammer and pick' symbol and if you click on those icons there is then a hotlink for the name of the mine that takes you to the mineral resources. If you click on the 'Key' button on the map, the symbols are explained.

Because Nevada has so many entries, you may find that the pages take a little while to load in full.

Last edited:
Upvote 0

DDancer

Bronze Member
Mar 25, 2014
Traveling US to work
Detector(s) used
Current Equinox 600
Past Whites DFX Garret GTI 2500 and others
Prospecting Minelab GPZ 7000
Past SD 2100 GP 3000 (retired)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting