Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
Discoveries

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Scrapping Small Electric Motors

« Prev Thread | Next Thread »
    us
    Dec 2008
    1 times

Scrapping Small Electric Motors

I'm new to scrapping, and am trying to figure out what is worth picking up, and what isnt. I saw a few electric weedwackers, and an old vacuum, and decided to see what I could get out of them. I pulled the motors out of them, and pretty much broke them down as far as I could. Do the scrapyards take electric motors? Do I have to disassemble them even further? Is there a way to get the copper coils out? Generally speaking, how much could I expect to get for a motor?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0921 (Small).jpg 
Views:	6117 
Size:	54.6 KB 
ID:	438092  
    missybaby28307 likes this.

fr
    Mar 2010
    8 times

Re: Scrapping Small Electric Motors

.15 to .20 a pound for them by me in So. AZ.

us
    Jul 2008
    Indiana
    Excalibur II
    1 times

If you have access to washers and dryers, those motors are really heavy. Fan motors are smaller but still good ones as well. If you have the time to wait till you have a barrel full of them it might make it worth your while. I personally consider motors to be worth their weight in gold because the poundage adds up fast and the is easy access to them(for me)

I would not break them down anymore than that. You could remove the copper but it is a rather lengthy process. Now on the bigger motors, don't attempt to disassemble them they are heavier that way.
    "Cows sure are creative with their poop, huh daddy?"-Madison (my daughter)

us
    Sep 2004
    TX
    Whites Vision/V3 Spectra, AT Pro
    3 times