How to handle copper wire scrap??

treasurekidd

Bronze Member
Nov 20, 2004
Rhode Island
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi again! I'm a newbie to scrap metal, so please bear with me here! I was wondering what how you all handle copper wire as scrap. I tried an experiment in stripping tonight with snips, a utility knife and a wire stripper, and the large car battery cable stripped nice and easy, but I gotta tell you, the smaller stuff like the computer power cord was not fun, and I didn't even try the old phone wire I had lying in the basement.

I can see cutting off all of the heavy, out cover, but it doesn't seem worth it to strip the smaller plastic inner insulation on the individual wires. What do you guys strip, and what do you leave the plastic insulation on?

Thanks again!

Ghondi

Jun 26, 2007
Coventry, CT
Detector(s) used
Fisher F2
dnewbury2 said:
Build a fire and burn the insulation off. It will then sell as #2 copper.

Please don't do that. Its horrible for the environment.

If you have time and energy, strip power cords etc..
Don't worry about the phone cable, take off the outer most layer, and scrap the thin wires as is.. They generally aren't gonna be easy to strip.

I strip everything I can, accept thin*phone cord/cat5 for example* wire.

By the way, I use a utility knife*razor* to strip wire. Wire strippers in my opinion make things overly complicated, as you have to do it one tiny section at a time...

kittywitty

Mar 20, 2008
Washington, DC
Kidd,

I second Ghondi. Burning off the insulation is lethal for the environment. Please don't do it. I use a pocket knife to strip insulation, which works better for me than self described wire stripper hand tools. This works for the larger size wire, but not well for power cords.

KW

bluecat

Feb 21, 2007