Underwater Heritage Trails

Narked1

Oct 11, 2005
Alexandria, Egypt
As some of you may know, I and a couple of partners have opened up a dive center here in Alexandria, Egypt (new website addy: "www.masterdiversinternational.com" ...a bit "cheesy" to look at, but we're still working on the site). But hey, it's my first attempt at developing a website.

I was wondering if any of you more experienced divers and salvors have been involved in establishing any of the Underwater Heritage Trails that I have read about in Florida, Australia, England, Canada, etc. Would like to hear some of your experiences, good and bad, in establishing a trail.

Popular recreational diving here in Egypt is pretty much known only to be in the Red Sea and on Cleopatra's Palace and the Pharos Lighthouse on the North Coast. As recreational diving on the North Coast of Egypt is very restricted (but we now have most of the permits) I was thinking about the feasibility of establishing a trail here that include not only the aforementioned sites, but also Napolean's flagship L'Orient in Abu Quir Bay, the sunken city of Heraklion (diving not permitted as of yet), an Italian sub in EL-Agamy (just outside of Alexandria), a couple of WWII wrecks in EL-Alamein, another Italian sub and torpedoed freighter in Marsa Matruh, and approximately 11 known wrecks in Sollum near the Libyan border (permits are still in the works).

In the meantime, I need to get out to about half of the sites listed above with my team and do site surveys in order to determine safety issues and familiarization dives with my divemasters.