Boca Raton,FLA

wailinmacs

Jun 19, 2007
Boca de Ratones
Detector(s) used
excalibur
does anyone want to share any shipwreck leads in boca. i have been fanning the shallow rocks on the beach for about 10 years. I've found ship nails and a few spikes. I'm kind of late to the game, some very dedicated hunters have been all over it for years. add to that, beach nourishment and I'm lucky to find a nail nowadays. i love fanning . one old hunter got me started and i thank him by sharing any info on what i find and location. i recently got an Excalibur and thought this would be great for the kind of hunting i do. man, is it ever hard to work among those rocks. i long for the carefree day of just fanning. any stories would be welcome, just something to keep me going. thanks in advance.

rgecy

Bronze Member
Jun 14, 2004
Beaufort, SC
Detector(s) used
Garrett Sea Hunter Mk II
There is one that I have heard of, and I am sure there are others. Do a search here on TNet and see what you can find.

I don't know of any specifics, but YES, they are there!

P

paddy.mick

Remember, no one checks people in the water(unless you're real obvious), but add a metal detector to that scene and you're going to draw some real attention-perhaps lose the thing to Marine Patrol.
Paddy

crzhors

Oct 29, 2006
Detector(s) used
Aquapulse,Excaliber,Pulse8X
Just a thought,the Excalibur is not the most efficient for 'pokin' around anything.The Excalibur needs to be swung side to side.A pulse detector would be a better tool for the job,especially with a "probe" loop. ;)

SteveS

Apr 29, 2007
There are numerous wrecks off Boca. We actually applied for and got the last admiralty lease inside State waters before the Abandoned Shipwreck Act went into effect for a wreck off Boca, though we later did get a State salvage lease, though never found what we were looking for.