20yrs in Survey industry

Nohope587

Jan 7, 2006
No Fixed abode
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Just thought I would throw out an offer here.
I have almost 20 years experience in marine survey. Pretty much if its used for finding pipelines cables or wrecks I have used it.
If anyone needs sidescan or Mag interp done. I can post process. I don't have a lot of free time as I am still actively involved in the survey business. But if anyone has any survey data processing requirements or would like to call on my talents. I am reasonably CAD proficient as well. Basically I would not mind using my skills for fun work now and again. I would be looking for some form of compensation for my time of course but its wide open for negotiation.

Mods if I am breaking any rules please delete this post.

riobravo

Apr 2, 2006
south texas to the east coast
hi no hope,
we need to get together sometime for a brew would love to challange your skills with some data i have amassed over the years.
scubafinder can attest to the challanges we have had in the many days of post processing data we have spent.
send me an email some time and lets chat................ ;D

Dinkydick

Oct 2, 2004
Hi No Hope,

Over the past many years I have installed many a cable and lots of pipe (the largest
was 16 feet in diameter). Lengths have been in the miles.

Years ago fiber optic cables didn't have any metal associated with their makeup. I am
sure that over the years metal was introduced for tracking and locating purposes. I would like to know if this is standard practice now days? Is the metal ribbon throughout the entire length of the newer cables with connections made at splice
locations. I have a cable tracker which injects a signal into submerged cables and
a receiver to help locate it. It didn't work with the older fiberoptic as there was no
metal for the signal to travel on.

Also PVC pipes are hard to locate without a metal tracer. The 16 foot diameter