LeTrap Recirculating sluice (video).

specksandflecks

Nov 13, 2009
Eugene Oregon
Detector(s) used
Whites GMT
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
These LeTraps are great little sluices. Think I paid $80.00 new for mine a few years ago. It was my first sluice and a couple highbankers and dredges later it remains my only hand sluice. IMO if you are just getting into prospecting and considering buying a hand sluice I highly recommend looking into one of these. They are inexpensive, light, efficient and can remain very useful if you go on to buy more equipment like highbankers, dredges and even other hand sluices.

I am a relative newbie at prospecting but if you ask most any veteran miner on this board or others they will most likely tell you its money well spent. These things really shine for small gold and the green contrast gives excellent feedback with both the initial presence/quantity of black sands and gold.

At the risk of sounding like a commercial endorsement which this isn't, they do have some drawbacks. One is the water flow needs to be fairly well dialed in, the other is volume unless they ever make a larger one. Most sluices suggest screening to 1/4"- and the LeTrap is no different. If you know you have smaller gold and really want to see it shine screen to 1/8" or smaller.

Some video of my LeTrap running -20 mesh concentrates in the highbanker stand set up to recirculate. If you have broadband there is a higher resolution version, not sure what resolution this one is.

placertogo

Aug 25, 2010
Maine USA