1600s spanish silver help id

Juiceboxer

Oct 9, 2019
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello everyone i found this coin the other day i believe to be king charles II possible 1/2 reale. im not an expert its clearly hammered and extremely small about pull tab size just looking information on when and where it was made and if it is a 1/2 reale. I can't find any other coin that looks like it. Thanks for any info! The cross has lions and castles in opposite corners and the back has CAS. the house was built mid 1600s if that helps

Attachments

• IMG_2491.PNG
    IMG_2491.PNG
    478.7 KB · Views: 162
  • IMG_2490.PNG
    IMG_2490.PNG
    444.1 KB · Views: 153
  • IMG_2485.JPG
    IMG_2485.JPG
    482.1 KB · Views: 154
  • IMG_2474.JPG
    IMG_2474.JPG
    324.8 KB · Views: 142
Last edited:
OP
OP
J

Juiceboxer

Oct 9, 2019
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You have it correct. A King Charles II half reale. not enough visible to ascertain the mint location other than eliminating Mexico City.
awesome thanks! is it rare or have some value

DetecTom

Nov 18, 2019
Long Island,NY
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 600|Whites IDX Pro
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
It’s very nice though. Not every day you come across a king Charles 1/2 reale!

NicaJake

Feb 25, 2020
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Probably late 1600's, from Lima. Potosi crosses are much more irregular.
Its Potosi mint. You can see in the first picture the line of dots are not round. They are jellybeans. That's Potosi. A great video on YouTube about identifying Charles II half reales by CaptainMyCaptain. The video is called Differences in 1/2 Real Coins.....

A2coins

Gold Member
Dec 20, 2015
Ann Arbor
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Dang that's a really cool find that's a great reale to display. Well done

ARC

Gold Member
Aug 19, 2014
Tarpon Springs
Detector(s) used
JW 8X-ML X2-VP 585
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting