Caves and technology

Prime

Apr 30, 2004
Canada
Detector(s) used
Garrett GTI2500 with EagleEye.
Primary Interest:
Other
I'm new to this part of treasure hunting, I've not dealt with caves before other than on tourist sites. The entrance to the cave I seek is likely covered in dense forest, or possibly underwater by now. Does anyone know of any advancements in technology that could aid me in finding either? I've got a drone that I could fly over the area to see if I could spot anything, possibly when foliage has withered away from trees. Any other advice? If I were to find this place, I plan on using a device to monitor the air quality and any gas emissions.

I wouldn't mind seeing a sticky here about the different tools that are available out there, from affordable to expensive for this type of expedition.

Cheers,

Prime

Last edited:

Bumbalawski

Mar 2, 2015
Beans Cove Pa.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Here in the hills, we use the old fashioned method, air flow. If it is the lower entrance of a cave, cold air will blow out when the outside temperatures exceed cave temperatures. If it is a high entrance to a cave, warm air will exit when outside temperatures are below cave temperatures. I also use Google earth along with ArcGIS hillshade lidar in gray scale. I also have a FLIR IR camera. These methods work pretty good. If it is under water, good luck there.

Don Carns Jr.

NSS 54725

OP
OP
Prime

Prime

Apr 30, 2004
Canada
Detector(s) used
Garrett GTI2500 with EagleEye.
Primary Interest:
Other
FLIR IR camera, that could definitely help. I appreciate you sharing this information, thanks.

Prime

hvacker

Bronze Member
Aug 18, 2012
New Mexico USA
Detector(s) used
My Head
Primary Interest:
Other
I was at a mine that would breathe. Suck in air in the morning and blow out at sunset.