Need help deciding which Tesoro/headphone to purchase...

TN Girl

Aug 1, 2009
I'm new to metal detecting and have been researching the various options out there. I definitely want a machine that I won't outgrow too quickly. I think a used Silver uMax may be the way to go. Is there a better option for a newbie?

Also, is there a specific brand of headphones that work better with a Silver? I'm considering SunRay Golds, Killer B Optima II, Gray Ghost Originals, Rats.

I look forward to hearing your opinions!

thrillathahunt

Silver Member
Jul 24, 2006
TEXAS
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have owned the Silver umax and found it to be effective, however I now have a Cibola, and can tell you that it is MUCH more powerful than the Silver. I use the original Gray Ghost headphones also.

RPG

Bronze Member
Jan 10, 2009
Alabama
Detector(s) used
Silver Umax, Compadre, Vaquero
Tesoro rocks. I own a compadre, silver u-max and vaquero. If you want a machine to use with headphones get the vaquero. It's deeper than the silver and you will hear those whispers when an item is deep. At a certain depth the silver cuts off. I found the headphones didn't help much. If you get the vaquero, go ahead and get the 5.75" concentric or save up for it in the future. I use it more than the stock coil. Don't let the ground balance feature scare you away from the vaquero. It's easier to GB that it is to decide what or what not to dig. :wink:

Good Luck
Randy

PS...Killer B's also rock.

John (Ma)

Silver Member
Jul 12, 2007
Western Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excal 1000, Tesoro Silver Umax, Tiger Shark and Whites MXT.
I use the Killer B head phones and they are great. I also picked up a pair of Garrett head phones for $40 and I have to say, they are very comfortable and work well, too.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used