Tesoro Outlaw Impressions

jfeeney

Sep 16, 2012
Dayton
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Outlaw
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I got my Outlaw that I bought through Rusty's Detectors. I'm still very new to MD so 53Silvers' impressions of the Outlaw are more informed than mine, so you can look at his first impressions of the Outlaw.

Here's my $0.02...

The unit feels incredible light but solid at the same time. I was shocked it's lighter than the Harbor Freight unit I was using.

The assembly of the unit was easy. The upper and lower shafts connected with problems at all.

The only issue I had was with attaching the coils to the lower shafts. You have to line up the holes so the mounting screw can secure the coil to the shaft. With the 10"x12" coil it was easiest because the cable was mounted in front of the mounting assembly. With the 5 3/4" coil it was a bit harder because the cable connected next to the mounting assembly but slightly offset so you could still look through and see when the holes aligned. With the 8 the cable was essentially aligned next to the mounting assembly making that coil the most difficult.
Scale 1 to 10 ( 1 being no problem - 10 being impossible ) : I'd give it a 3. Minor issues.

tesoro-outlaw-3-coil-kit.jpg

The only thing I would have done differently with what came stock with the unit is use slightly narrower and longer velcro straps for securing the cable to the pole. I may just replace the ones that came with the unit. Again minor nit-pick kind of thing. Scale of 1 to 10: I'd give that a 1.

I can't wait to do some tests with it and start searching my yard for anything I've missed with the HF unit I used. Thanks to Hurricane Sandy - we've had a couple of days of wind/rain/snow so the first I'll get to use it if Friday.

I will try and get some air tests done tomorrow, I'll post the results here.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used