Why does my DeLeon False Signal So Often?

antlerman23

Jun 6, 2011
Rochester Minnesota
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Fisher F2 (DD coil)
Whites Classic ID
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I am fairly new to the Tesoro Deleon, I had been using a Whites Classic ID for a few years, and it worked just fine for me. Now with the Deleon, in areas where the whites Could swing silently for an hour, I get multiple 95 "silver coin" signals per sweep. When I go back over them they are unrepeatable or signal as iron. because of this I can not take my eyes off the screen, being as I get constant GREAT sounding hits every swing and I need to be able to see which ones are actual signals and not "ghosts". I was in discrim mode with the discrim knob cranked to the "a" in tab, sensitivity below the 1 (if it is above 3 I get constant falsing) and threshold 30 degrees E of N I guess... The soil I am digging in is dark sandy soil, pretty much black, in Southeastern Minnesota. Does anyone know if there is anything I can do to make this stop? My neck is sore from looking down!
On a better note, I was digging nails and coins in the same hole for the first time! The discrimination is quite good despite the concentric coil and the "noise".
Thanks for any help!

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
You have the wrong machine for your soil which is too mineralized and conductive for the Deleon and its fixed ground balance. You need a manual ground balance machine.:skullflag:

tabman

Bronze Member
Jul 5, 2011
Germantown, Tennessee
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used