Starter Metal Detector

Windsor CA

Tenderfoot
Jun 22, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Good morning guys and gals.....I'm just getting started, and besides doing a lot of reading, I don't know much. There's a Tesoro Vacquero detector for sale here, and the gentleman selling it suggested I ask for some additional input before buying it. Is it too advanced for a beginner, or is it a good place to start. If it's not the best detector for someone starting out, what is? Any and all feedback is appreciated. Thanks.

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting

digger27

Bronze Member
May 18, 2011
It's fine, I used one for many hours and found tons.
That being said it has no screen and although learning to hunt with sound only has great advantages no matter what detector you like to swing I always believed if you are just starting out units with tones AND screen info, especially extremely helpful VDI numbers and how they behave, can be much easier to help learn all the basics newbies need to learn.
Much easier, and maybe a little less frustrating at the beginning but just my opinion.
Many have though, the Compadre, Silver, Vaq and more have all been successful starting units for many.

Nowadays I prefer using Fishers with screens because we have become one.
The things I learned using Tesoros has been very useful to me because they have descriptive tones too, but I utilize the screen data just as much.
Once in awhile I still pull out a Tesoro because they are just a ton of fun to use for me, as a matter of fact I just picked up a new Mojave and I have been having a blast with it for the last few weeks but I use these for a change of pace...screen units are still my prime.