Metal detecting around old house

TejasDigger

Sep 5, 2009
Texas
Detector(s) used
E-trac, Ace 250, Pro Pointer
Hello everybody, I'm new to metal detecting so I hope I can learn a few things on this site.
Well, I metal detected an old house this morning and found a few things. The house is gone all but the chimney and the owner (my aunt) is not sure when it was built but I'm guessing mid to late 1800's. The bottle was found while digging a piece of junk metal and the same goes for the marble, unless I bought one heck of a metal/glass detector. Well, here are my finds

metaldetecting002.jpg

I also found a harmonica that says Sousa's Band on one side and John Philip Sousa on the other side
Anybody know anything about this harmonica or how old it may be?

metaldetecting003.jpg

The Indian head penny is 1902 and the two wheat pennies are 1912s and 1929d i believe.
Also, I'm using photobucket so do I need to change the way I'm posting pics to save space?

metaldetecting005.jpg

Upvote 0
OP
OP
TejasDigger

TejasDigger

Sep 5, 2009
Texas
Detector(s) used
goldeagle said:
way to go!keep on huntin!

I will thanks. I just started metal detecting a couple weeks ago and I was pretty happy to see that Indian head penny. I'll be out tomorrow or the next at the same spot, so hopefully I can post more finds. Can anyone tell me if I should clean any of the coins and if so, with what? Any help is greatly apreciated.

Mr Tuff

Silver Member
Dec 4, 2008
ILL
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari, Garrett pro pointer, bounty hunter 202 with a 10in magnum coil, Automax pinpointer,
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
wow a harp in one piece :icon_thumleft: nice IH I JUST PULLED A 1902 a few days ago...........MR TUFF..

wingmaster

Bronze Member
Aug 10, 2009
Detector(s) used
White's MXT all pro, MXT300 D2, 950, 4X6 DD, detech ultimate 13" DD coils
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Very nice finds congrats.

mighty_mace

Jun 29, 2007
Schuylkill County, PA
🏆 Honorable Mentions: