Rings are in season

Mirage

Silver Member
Sep 16, 2005
Cleveland, OH
Last week Nate and I got the itch to do some detecting. Since it was 88 we didn’t want to make a big trip out of it. We decided to detect an old 1800’s home site that has been used as a park for the last 80 years. This site is super trashy(a nice carpet of pull tabs) but some decent finds have come from it. I put on the 7.5 inch DD Coil on my new Explorer II. Since I am just learning the machine I got a couple pull tab signals and dug them. Ok, that’s what a pull tab reads as. 15 minutes later one of the pull tabs sounded a little better than a tab. Dug it and found the silver ring. ;D Looks like it could have some age. Outside appears fairly worn. Inside writing says To Mickey Teay(?). Only found one other coin in our hour of detecting. Nate also only found one coin.

Had some luck with a few other rings at a local elementary school. All three were in the same small area. The silver butterfly ring sounded better than a pull tab but the others like one. The one says 18 k on the inside. Of coarse it was plated and most of the plating came off. :P

Last hunt was with a fellow DFX owner who made the drive up to hunt our latest hotspot. Nate scored some nice keepers and Don found a cool “Good for 5 cents trade” token as well as a hotel key ring.

HH

Mirage

Attachments

• mytotals700.jpg
    mytotals700.jpg
    89.5 KB · Views: 548
  • token.jpg
    token.jpg
    66.1 KB · Views: 551
  • Ringsbefore.jpg
    Ringsbefore.jpg
    75.2 KB · Views: 545
Upvote 0

mlw67

Bronze Member
Apr 27, 2006
Portland, OR
Cool finds there, Mirage.

Maybe if you keep hunting you will find the rest of the safe that combo dial came from... ::)

Huntin' 59er

Apr 27, 2005
Texas
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Congrats Mirage on the nice haul! And those are some real good quality pictures.

Huntin' 59er

Nana40

Gold Member
Feb 3, 2005
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
MXT
Primary Interest: