found my first silver coin today made up, also i may have found my first hammerd

onlinesniper

Jun 16, 2011
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 150, Garrett Ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi all at TNET i have found my first silver coin today and I'm made up its only a small one but its my first silver

Its a Victoria one shilling 1873 coin sorry for the bad pics using a mobile.
also i got a coin signal so i dug it at about 4-5 inches and it looks like a hammered coin but I'm no expert any ideas?

Attachments

• IMG00267-20110727-2108.jpg
    IMG00267-20110727-2108.jpg
    36 KB · Views: 822
  • IMG00268-20110727-2108.jpg
    IMG00268-20110727-2108.jpg
    35.5 KB · Views: 804
  • IMG00266-20110727-2108.jpg
    IMG00266-20110727-2108.jpg
    34.9 KB · Views: 809
Upvote 0

Silver Searcher

Gold Member
Sep 27, 2006
UK
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
XP Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
:hello:

You will have to describe it more, can't tell from the picture...looks like it's made of Copper :icon_scratch:

SS

High Plains Digger

Bronze Member
Feb 1, 2008
It looks hammered, but not the way you are thinking. The British began using steam works for stamping coins in 1797. But the hammering stopped way back. An exciting first silver find. Mine was just a 1964 dime. BOOOOOORING.

OP
OP
O

onlinesniper

Jun 16, 2011
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks guys it made my day and it made up for all the insect bites i incurred throughout the day :D the other coin is made of copper i think and it has a deep indented circle running round it off center with bits missing around the edges but i cant make out the picture on it and dont want to try cleaning it in case i destroy it lol

Silver Searcher

Gold Member
Sep 27, 2006
UK
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
XP Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
onlinesniper said: